‘I can read in red. I can read in blue. I can read in…”

“I can read in red. I can read in blue. I can read in pickle color too.”
― Dr. Seuss, I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!

IMG_4105

Shamona Creek students joined in the 16th annual celebration of Read Across America last Monday, March 2. Mrs. Welsh challenged the students to go beyond the one-day event and read their way across a map of the USA.

  • Students in grades K, 1 and 2 can color one state on the map for every 5 minutes they read.
  • Students in grades 3, 4 and 5 can color one state on the map for every 10 minutes they read.

If students set a goal to color 10 states each week, they can read through all 50 states in just five weeks!

If 500 students meet the challenge by the deadline of April 8, the school will host a special “Dress the Principal” assembly on April 9. Mrs. Welsh will be required to wear clothes the students select for her.

The weather in early March has been a challenge, so this post is a gentle reminder of the Read Across America project. And hopefully, on those snowy days, lots of reading minutes were achieved.

Leave a comment